Skip to content

Blocked!

July 22, 2014

Like every writer, sometimes the ideas are there, percolating in my mind, but I completely lack the means to articulate them in a clear, cogent way. That’s my issue with chapter two, so far. My central argument is very much a work in progress, and I’m having trouble explaining why it is distinctive or interesting or worth writing or reading about. It could be the lack of sleep – or the insanely jarring tree-chompers operating next door. I know I need to be patient; I know ideas and connections between ideas take time to develop and evolve; but most days writing time is at a premium and I just want to be productive. What do you do to combat writers’ block? Any suggestions?

In other news, I recently uncovered this little gem from England’s legal history: In the 13th century it was lawful – expected, even – to pursue a fleeing criminal, behead him, and send the head to the county gaol via the coroner. Citizens’ arrests seem pretty tame in comparison, don’t they?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

